You Missed Out.

We will ignore my timing. We’ll say that I’m a busy person.

Some of you may know: about two weeks ago I went to the Book Expo America in New York City. I asked if anyone wanted to come, but apparently everyone was too busy. You totally missed out; there were so many free books, the reps were throwing them at everybody that walked by. It only got bad when people decided to throw hardcovers – I got a pretty wicked concussion.

It’s a surreal experience. It was my first BEA, so it was a little overwhelming. Since I was there on a publishing internship I spent I lot of my time schmoozing with marketing and publicity agents, and self-published authors hocking their books. And when I say schmoozing, I mean no one realized I was an intern. I decided to take my generally misunderstood importance to the next level, and it worked. Surprisingly enough, if you convince yourself that you’re telling the truth, everyone else seems to believe it too. I just wish I had my own business cards.

When I wasn’t misdirecting the hope of potential authors, I wandered around the expo. I saw Lemony Snickett, got an autographed copy of Android Karenina, embarrassed myself in front  of various authors/graphic novel artists. I will also confess, I wondered/hoped that maybe a begrudging and annoyed Professor Camuto would be present at the W.W. Norton booth, but I had no such luck.

I really recommend going next year. But if you’re going you should really make an itinerary, or set-up some kind of plan. You can, like I did, go without a plan, and it will still be  a lot of fun, but you’ll probably miss out on a lot of really cool events.
That’s the Report,
Calvin.

2 thoughts on “You Missed Out.

  1. Hi Calvin, good to hear from you! Sounds like the BEA was a ton of fun, though a little hectic to say the least. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures with your internship. 🙂

  2. Sounds awesome. I never did get to go to a book expo during my publishing internship in Boston – always wanted to though. I loved how working in publishing brought me sooooooo many free books.

    And good going with the “schmoozing.” There’s always networking going on with those sort of events, and it’s definitely always good to make friends there.

Leave a Reply

