September is here…

I can’t believe it is September already! I am really happy, as it is my favorite month: the sound of crickets, the cooler nights, trees starting to change colors, birds moving across the skies and landscapes.  And best of all, the start of a new school year!  Last fall didn’t feel right when many of my friends were going back to Bucknell or off to grad school, and my parents (who are teachers) and my younger siblings were starting a new school year, and I wasn’t.  The good thing is that I wasn’t the only one at home/applying to grad school/trying to find a job/in limbo, and I think that the year off was a good because it let my brain rest and showed me how much grad school was the right decision for me.  I am so ready to get back into academics!

For those who don’t know (I know I have mentioned it here somewhere before) I am starting a phd program in Women’s Studies at the University of Maryland, College Park.  It’s pretty exciting to be back on a university campus.  (Though looking at my reading list for next week…part of me is going, really Jess, really. Remind me again why you thought this was a good idea? a  400 page book to read in 5 days? countless articles and response papers? what!)  But the stress of learning how to juggle all this work aside,  there is no where else I’d rather be.  (Except –maybe Mexico. 🙂 )

I’ll keep you updated on all of that as the semester continues and I get a better sense of my classes.  One is called Dominance and Deviance in the Study of the City and I think, based on yesterday’s class, is going to be fantastic!

As for the rest of the summer when I went MIA–in July I was working as a tutor/office clerk/translator for a summer school for children of Migrant Workers, which was very interesting and a lot of work, especially since we had one student who spoke almost no English, so needed a lot of added instruction.  I had a great time and got a lot out of working with the students.  Then in August I went to England to see family and friends.  It had been two years since my last visit in 2008 (I was there for 7 months with the ASE study abroad program in Bath, then as a au pair, and finally a month’s family holiday).  It was great to see my uncle, cousins and the rest of the extended family.  My grandparents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary, and the party was a lot of fun. (Interesting fact: My grandma is one of 8 siblings, and 2 have already celebrated their 50th’s.  My Auntie June and Uncle Raymond celebrated their 54th this year, and my Auntie Mary and Uncle Gordon celebrated their 63rd! And they are still so happy together.)

While working for the Migrant Program and traveling in England and France I thought a lot about language Spanish, British English, American English, and French, and I have, rattling around my brain, a blog entry about all of those thoughts.  However, I still haven’t sorted out all my thoughts yet.  But I will post on that soon, today I wanted to at least post a quick update.  Although I haven’t been very active this summer, I think this space is very important and hope that it keeps being used and that it continues to change and evolve.

For now I leave you with a video someone sent to me on facebook, a three-year old reciting Billy Collin’s “Litany.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVu4Me_n91Y

He also does a version of “The Eagle” as well.  He is very cute, and I love that his parents are exposing him to poetry at this age.  It has also inspired me to memorize more of my favorite poetry.  I have memorized 2 new ones so far, bringing my entire count to 4.  Recently I also subscribed to a few poetry podcasts on Itunes which are cool. A free read poem a day.

Now it is someone elses’s turn, how are all of you? For those with a job, how is that going? For those starting or returning to grad school, how does the semester look so far? For those at Bucknell, how is the semester going? I can’t believe this year the class of 2014 is entering!

Leave a Reply

