7 Habits of Highly Effective…

Mount Fuji, in all her glory (from the bullet train)

So, I downloaded a few audiobooks (illegally, sorry). I find they are good resources when you’re sick of the same playlist but mentally bored while doing something like making dinner. The “Stuff You Should Know” podcast is also great for this.

Anywho, I heard rave reviews about Stephen Covey’s “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” and I happened to find a good torrent. I listened to a bit of this book on the bullet train on the way to Tokyo (which by the way had been a childhood dream). The book is like a hyped up self-help book but it offers a lot of semi-moral situations to consider. It’s like a cleansing for your moral code. The book so far is good.

I became a little wary though, when he began releasing his religious indoctrinations on me. The book is marketed to anyone wanting to be “effective” but does that mean I have to listen to him rambling about religion? Is this book also an outlet for his preaching and “harvesting”? Now, I’m sorry if I seem a little harsh and you may have guessed by now I don’t exactly follow God, especially not in any common practiced way. But the tone of this book seems quite evangelistic. I wish I had solid quotes here, but for example, he will discuss the complications of married people talking to the opposite sex outside of work, and then say “any educated Mormon would blah blah blah”. I knew it was evangelism!

Ok, maybe I’m just complaining. But here is my real gripe. He discusses the complete immorality of feminism as a whole. Again, I will paraphrase, but he says that feminism is one of the leading factors in our high divorce rate. Because of this, any moral woman would understand the

Stephen Covey with a child molester smile

harm in a woman leading her own life, finding her own path, being “equal” and all that other feminist nonsense. Now, I’m not exactly a woman’s rights activist, but was having trouble trying to stitch together this loose argument.

One feminist assertion is changing the system, rather than accepting the previously flawed system. You don’t have to be a feminist to empathize, or, dare I say, agree. An educated individual has ideas to “change the system”. This individual will also most likely agree with other feminist ideas such as the importance of harmony, phraseology and establishing a balance between the objective and subjective. It takes a confident man to understand the imbalances in modern society. Again, I’m not all for girl power, being a guy and all, but I find fault in such a highly acclaimed book.

Anyone else read this book? Any thoughts?

Also, if you like pondering religion, check out this very interesting video biography of an evangelist turned atheist.

(Thanks to jvoor for reminding me of these thoughts with her “Paralysis” entry!)

One thought on “7 Habits of Highly Effective…

  1. Hey Dan, glad my paralysis entry inspired you to post! I’m also happy to learn that I will definitely not be reading “7 Habits of Highly Effective People.” It’s a book I have heard of, and wondered if it was any good. As an atheist and feminist, I am going to give it a miss! I can’t believe he actually denounces all of feminism…although on the other hand, as a women’s studies student all too familiar with the ways in which feminism and the women’ s rights movement are dismissed, or even blamed for societal problems now, I am not exactly surprised.

Leave a Reply

