Dream Writing

A few weeks ago I wrote a poem in my dream. It was quite long, probably about 15 lines. When I got up sometime in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom I remembered the dream poem and, still half-asleep, grabbed a notepad (always good to have one near the bed) and scribbled down all that I could remember. This is what I woke up to:

filled with love for the youth around me
the gender benders
I see a teenager girl with a zoolander bag
and rainbow bracelets
trans
[there was more to this line, but I lost it in my dream]
straights who defiantly hold their boyfriends/girlfriends
and don’t yet realize they are gay

Not really much of anything, but hey, it’s a dream poem! (I’m sort of intrigued by the last line: who is it who has not yet realized they are gay, the boyfriends/girlfriends? or the “straights”?) The last time I wrote a poem in a dream and actually recorded part of it on paper, I completely forgot about it when I woke up the next morning. It was during the June Seminar for Younger Poets at Bucknell (which is amazing by the way!). It wasn’t until later in the day that I remembered the poem, which in my dream I had thought of as visionary, stupendous, the best thing I had ever written. I eagerly opened my notebook to find this single line:

the state of ketchup on the unsettled mind.

No, I have no idea what it means. Do you? I would love to actually include it in a poem somehow, but I am not sure how I am going to be able to work it in!

So, how about the rest of you? Have you ever written anything in your dreams and remembered in the next day? Do you draw inspiration from your dreams or keep a dream journal?

2 thoughts on “Dream Writing

  1. I read this post late last night, fell asleep and dreamed about writing a poem. When I woke up I was too groggy to want to write anything from my dream so now I have no recollection. Thought I’d share that with you.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I’m glad the post inspired some dream poetry even if you didn’t remember it the next morning. That’s the difficulty with dream writing, remembering it when you wake up!

Leave a Reply

